Pitching Some Tents

Quite some time ago I painted these tents from Renedra with the intent of using them in Pulp and 18th Century North American gaming. They’ve never seen a table, so I thought that if I mounted them maybe then I’d be more apt to use them as terrain pieces/objectives – we’ll see. I simply flocked some wooden discs and rectangles from the craft store for the bases. The campfires are from Renedra and I believe that the muskets are from Conquest Miniatures.

Renedra Tents

5 responses to “Pitching Some Tents

  • daggerandbrush

    Very nice. The tents are well painted and look realistic. Often the highlights on tents are too stark, but you achieved a subtle look. The only thing I could think of to improve them further is to add some bushes or fallen leaves (and maybe a barrel or food here and there).

    Like

  • The model warrior

    They look very well painted😀

    Like

  • albattros

    Don’t you get bonus points for using “mounted” and “pitch a tent” in the same post? I know my mind is in the gutter … See you soon -Tres

    Like

  • Tichy

    I really like the color that you have managed to create. They look very realistic. Would you mind sharing the secret? A side note, lighter one is almost perfectly the shade one looks for weathered sails…

    Like

    • John Emmett

      Gladly, and no secrets here except in the context of me actually remembering the colors I used. I’m pretty sure the green ones are Vallejo Panzer Aces 336 Africa Korps Tankcrew, followed by a diluted wash of Vallejo Sepia Wash, and then highlighted with Vallejo Panzer Aces 338 Highlight Germ.I(Feldgrau).

      The lighter colored ones followed the same process, and I think I used Vallejo Panzer Aces 340 Highlight Africa Korps and 345 Splinter Camo Base, but I am not 100% certain.

      Like

Leave a Reply

